Your State May Be Eligible for a $1 Billion Resilience Competition!

Flood_DestructionThere’s $1 billion in funds for eligible states and regions that are recovering from natural disasters and preparing for the future. That’s the mission of the National Disaster Resilience Competition, developed by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

All states with counties that experienced a Presidentially Declared Major Disaster in 2011, 2012, or 2013 are eligible to submit applications that address unmet needs and vulnerabilities to future extreme events. Click here for FEMA’s searchable list of eligible disasters.

Major goals of the competition: to create multiple examples of disaster recovery that applies risk analysis to recovery, resilience, and revitalization needs, while providing resources to help other communities become more resilient in the face of future threats.

This month marks the beginning of the Framing Phase, where applications will be collected up to March 16, 2015. Additional webinars on the competition will be delivered weekly by HUD staff. For more information, read this fact sheet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s