Survey: Security Jeopardized by ‘Data Hoarding’

Automated data processing

The smart move is to save all your data, right? Not so fast. When it comes to compromising businesses’ data security and management, those years and years of backups may be doing more harm than good.

Specifically, businesses are becoming increasingly concerned with the impact of “data hoarding” – the practice of saving unnecessary files over prolonged periods.  According to a recent survey of 10,022 global office professionals on how individuals manage data, 77% are more concerned with data hoarding than they were a year ago.

Among the findings:

  • IT decision makers are hoarding their digital files and saving 54% of all the data they create – and 41% of it goes unmodified for three or more years
  • About 75% frequently take time away from their daily tasks to deal with data hoarding
  • 69% say they’ve abandoned efforts to organize and delete old digital files because it’s too overwhelming to cope with.

Unfortunately, all that extraneous data can increase the time it takes to respond to a data breach. And what’s being saved could be dangerous enough on its own – 83% of IT decision makers admitted they retained detrimental items such as:

  • Unencrypted personnel records
  • Job applications to other companies
  • Unencrypted company secrets, and
  • Employee correspondence.

Overwhelmingly, most of the “junk” saved amounts to unnecessary personal files – about 96% of it, according to respondents.

If any of this sounds familiar, it might be time for your organization to do some spring cleaning before the data deluge becomes too big a problem to handle!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s